A review of recent news, research, and treatment related to acne vulgaris.

FDA Alerts

FDA Alerts
Friday, August 24, 2018
The FDA has approved a new topical, once-daily lotion for the treatment of acne vulgaris in patients aged 9 years and older.​​​​​​​
FDA Alerts
Friday, July 8, 2016
The FDA approved adapalene gel 0.1% (Differin Gel), a once-daily, over-the-counter, topical gel for the treatment of acne in people 12 years of age or older.
FDA Alerts
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
The FDA Nonprescription Drugs Advisory Committee (NDAC) voted 16-0 on April 15 that adapalene gel 0.1% (Differin Gel), a long-approved prescription topical retinoid for acne is safe for over-the-counter (OTC) use. This recommendation is a first-in-class switch.
FDA Alerts
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Once-daily dapsone Gel, 7.5% (Aczone, Allergan PlC), a new prescription topical treatment for inflammatory and non-inflammatory acne in patients 12 years of age and older, received FDA approval.

News

News
Wednesday, October 3, 2018
The FDA has approved a new tetracycline derived oral antibiotic for patients aged 9 years and older with moderate to severe acne.
News
Thursday, August 30, 2018
In a recent study, researchers investigated the efficacy of a novel topical foam for the treatment of moderate to severe acne.
News
Monday, March 5, 2018
In a recent study, researchers explored reasons for nonadherence to acne medication among patients and steps physicians could take to improve adherence.
News
Thursday, February 8, 2018
The authors of a recent study have revealed findings regarding the potential association between acne and the risk for depression.

Research in Review

Research in Review
Tuesday, October 30, 2018
A review of recent news, research, and treatment related to acne vulgaris.
Research in Review
Tuesday, July 24, 2018
A review of recent news, research, and treatment related to acne vulgaris.
Research in Review
Wednesday, December 20, 2017
These tips submitted by The Dermatologist readers aim to improve your practice.
Research in Review
Friday, October 27, 2017
This article highlights existing, new, and emerging treatments for the millions of individuals living with acne.