AAD Announces New President and Officers Begin Term


The American Academy of Dermatology (AAD) appointed 2 new officers and 4 new board of director members at the conclusion of this year’s annual meeting in San Diego.

New officers include:

  • Suzanne M. Olbricht, MD, FAAD, will begin her one-year term as the new president of the AAD. Dr Olbricht is an associate professor of dermatology at Harvard Medical School and chief of dermatology at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center in Boston. She previously served as the AAD’s secretary-treasurer, assistant secretary-treasurer, a member of the board of directors, and as a chair of the Scientific Assembly Committee. In addition, Dr Olbricht was the past president of the New England Dermatology Society, a treasurer for the Women’s Dermatology Society, and a board member of the American College of Mohs Surgery.
  • Ted Rosen, MD, FAAD, will be this year’s new vice president for the AAD. Dr Rosen is a professor of dermatology at Baylor College of Medicine and chief of dermatology service at Michael E. DeBakey Veterans Affairs Medical Center in Houston. He is a trustee of the Dermatology Physician Assistant Foundation. In addition, Dr Rosen was a past president and secretary-treasurer for the Houston Dermatological Society and past vice president of the Texas Dermatological Society.

The new members of the board of directors include:

  • Diane S. Berson, MD, FAAD, who is an associate clinical professor in the department of dermatology at Weill Cornell Medical College in New York and an assistant attending dermatologist at New York-Presbyterian Hospital.
  • Seemal R. Desai, MD, FAAD, who has a private practice and serves as a clinical assistant professor in the department of dermatology at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas.
  • Scott M. Dinehart, MD, FAAD, who has a private practice in Arkansas and is chair of the AAD’s Dermatopathology Rapid Response Committee.
  • Abby S. Van Voorhees, MD, FAAD, is a professor and chair of dermatology and residency director at Eastern Virginia Medical School l in Norfolk, VA.

All of the new members of the board of directors will serve 4-year terms.

In addition, the new officers and board of directors members will hold the same positions at the AAD’s sister organization, the American Academy of Dermatology Association.

—Melissa Weiss